Gold Sovereigns - Investing & Collecting

Gold Sovereigns

The British gold Sovereign was first minted in 1489 for Henry VII. It was produced through 1604, then replaced by other coins. Restarted in 1817, the sovereign weighs just under 8 grams and is .917 pure gold. The half sovereign is also .917 pure and weighs 3.99 grams.

The sovereign was also produced by other mints in a few other British colonies. Canada minted a sovereign between 1908-17 at the Ottawa mint. The 1908 had the lowest mintage of just 626 pieces while the 1911 coin reached almost 157,000 coins. Interestingly, during 1912, 13 and 14, Canada also issued a $10 and $5 gold coin. Canadian Sovereigns had a "C" mintmark.

Australia produced a Gold Sovereign between 1855 and 1931. There were mints at Perth (18991931), Melbourne (18721931) and Sydney (18551926) minting the Sovereign. These Australian Sovereigns carried a mintmark also, "M" for Melbourne, "P" for Perth and "S" for Sydney.

India opened a mint at Bombay where gold sovereigns were minted just during 1918. There were over 1,300,000 produced, more than Canada managed during it's 10 years of minting sovereigns. These India gold coins contained an "I" as a mintmark.

Finally, South Africa's Pretoria mint produced a gold sovereign between 1923-32. These coins included a "SA" as the mintmark.

The British Gold Britannia was introduced in 1987 and the series includes 4 coins with one ounce, one half, one quarter and one tenth ounce of gold.

Copyright 2010-16